Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology, abbreviated to CSAUA&T, is a government university of agricultural studies in Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. CSAUA&T was established in the year 1975 and is named after the Indian Revolutionary Chandrashekhar Azad. Apart from Kanpur, CSAUA&T also has other campuses in Etawah and Lakhipur Kheri district which are functional and there is one coming up in the city of Hardoi. This university caters to all the needs of the farming communities of 29 districts of UP. Initially, this was a small school which was started in the year 1893 in Kanpur in order to provide training to revenue officers, and then it went on to grow to the status of being a Government agricultural college in the year 1906 named as Uttar Pradesh Institute, and finally, it became a full-fledged university in 1975. That is when the Uttar Pradesh College of Veterinary Science & Animal Husbandry located in Mathura was merged with the university. CSAUA&T is affiliated with ICAR (Indian Council for Agriculture and Research) and UGC (University Grants Commission). The mission of this university can be fulfilled by

  • Making provisions for the education of the people of rural Uttar Pradesh in various streams of agriculture – including rural industry and business, and other allied subjects
  • Nurturing the pursuit of research in agricultural sciences, and other allied sciences
  • Undertaking programmes directly on the field
The University has an Agricultural Technology Information Centre at its gate. And this Centre provides all sorts of information to the farmers in the state. CSAUA&T provides training to the farmers and officials in different agricultural technologies.

Academic Performance 

There are various undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral degrees being offered by Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture & Technology. Some of them are Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, Bachelor of Science in Horticulture, Bachelor of Science in Forestry, Bachelor of Science in Community Science, Bachelor of Science in Fisheries Science, Bachelor of Technology in Agricultural Engineering, Master of Science in Agriculture, Master of Science in Horticulture, Master of Science in Home Science, Master of Business Administration, and Doctor of Philosophy in Agriculture Science.

Research and Development

The university is responsible for an extensive research effort that takes place under the Director of the Agricultural Research Station. It has four distinguished research sections namely – Barley Section, Economic Botanist (Rabi Cereals) which was established in 1904 and is the first Economic Botanist of India, Economic Botanist (Legumes), and Economic Botanist (Oilseed). The university has successfully developed and released above 150 early maturing, disease-resistant, insect-resistant, high-yielding variety of crops and some hybrids of cereals, vegetables, oilseeds, pulses, and cotton. 29 of these have been produced in the past three years. CSAUA&T plays a significantly important role in the evolution of agricultural techniques and processes catering to several individual circumstances.

Notable Alumni

There are several people in the field of Agriculture, Botany, Fisheries, etc. who have graduated from Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology. Hargovind Bhargava, an MLA from the 17th Legislative Assembly of U.P., studied B.Sc. Ag., M.Sc. Ag., and Ph.D. from CSAUA&T. Kishan Singh, an alumnus of the University who is best known for his contributions to the pathology of the sugarcane crop received the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology in 1976 from the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research.